The Westtown-East Goshen Regional Police Department currently has 30 officers assigned to its Patrol Unit.  The Patrol Unit consists of four squads that are each supervised by a Patrol Sergeant.  Each squad is staffed by a combination of full-time and part-time sworn uniformed officers.  Members of the Patrol Unit generally work 12 hour shifts.

Criminal Investigation Division:

The Criminal Investigation Division of the Westtown-East Goshen Regional Police Department is comprised of four full-time criminal investigators which is supervised by a Detective/Sergeant. The Criminal Investigation Division is responsible for conducting investigations of all major crimes in the townships of Westtown, East Goshen, and Thornbury that include deaths, arson, auto theft, burglaries, robberies, kidnapping, rape and hostage situations. Detectives also conduct background investigations for police applicants. Detectives are responsible for crime scene investigation, processing, and the collection of evidence.

Detectives in the unit constantly receive training in specialized areas of law enforcement to develop high levels of expertise in dealing with specific types of crimes and categories of people. Detectives conduct undercover operations to combat drug trafficking. Members of CID work with the Chester County Municipal Drug Task Force throughout Chester County on drug investigations.

The unit strives to maintain constant training, use of outside resources, and develop expertise so that all investigations are complete and properly prepared for prosecution.

In January 2004 the Criminal Investigation Division placed into service a Special Operations Unit response vehicle. This truck is fully equipped with communications equipment, crime scene processing equipment and mapping equipment for documenting scenes. This vehicle responds to all major criminal investigations, serious car accidents, and other high risk/major incidents.

The Criminal Investigation Division responds to serious and fatal traffic accidents to assist the Traffic Safety Unit with evidence documentation, collection, and witness interviews.

Traffic Safety:

The Westtown-East Goshen Regional Police Department currently has 3 members assigned on a full-time basis to its Traffic Safety Unit (TSU). 

  • The primary function of TSU is to address traffic complaints in the communities served by the Department.  Members of the Unit conduct traffic studies of the areas to determine whether the problem should be addressed by enforcement, a change in signage, or a more extensive examination by a traffic engineer for consideration of traffic calming devices. 
  • Members of the Traffic Safety Unit are also certified in accident reconstruction and conduct in-depth collision analysis and reconstruction for serious crashes to identify the collision causation and contributing factors.

Another important service that the TSU provides is commercial vehicle enforcement.  Two members of the Traffic Safety Unit have received certification in the Motor Carrier Safety Assistance Program (MCSAP). The goal of commercial vehicle enforcement is to reduce accidents, fatalities, and injuries that result from commercial vehicle crashes.

Community Service Division:

The Community Services Division for the Westtown-East Goshen Regional Police Department has two separate functions within the agency:  School Resource division and Business Outreach division.

  • The School Resource division serves as a security and safety, law enforcement, and education liaison to the public, private, parochial, and charter schools in the department’s coverage area.
  • The Business Outreach division serves as a single point of contact for business owners to provide information about services provided by the department and to serve as a security liaison for the businesses.

Police Administration: 

Chief of Police: Dr. Brenda M. Bernot 

Lieutenant: Jonathan Stafford

Lieutenant: David Leahy